Egg Casserole – Recipe

During day 8 of our Whole30 I made a yummy egg casserole for breakfast, hoping that it would last a few mornings. Here’s the recipe I used:

20140310-101725.jpg

Ingredients:
12 eggs
1 cup egg whites
3/4 cup fresh mushrooms broken
3/4 cup fresh spinach ripped by hand
1 cup homemade almond milk
Salt and pepper to taste
I also added some sausage that I had pre-made for dinner tonight…the sausage blend was 1/2 lb. ground pork,
1/2 a medium onion-chopped, 1/4 tsp. fennel seed, 1 clove garlic, salt and pepper to taste.

You can also add other seasonings, veggies, greens, etc.  I keep mine pretty bland sometimes so that I can add toppings later – paleo ketchup, guacamole, salsa, etc., and it always “goes”.

Directions
* preheat oven to 350 degrees
* begin mixing all ingredients – I’m sure there some fancy way, but I dump everything together and mix it up.
* pour mixture into a lightly greased casserole dish – size is up to you – mine was about 3/4 inch thick when I dumped it in and it fluffed up to a little over 1 inch when it was cooked.
* bake for approximately 30 minutes. This will entirely depend on how to stick the mixture was when you poured it in. Mine, at 3/4 of an inch thick needed to bake for approximately 40 minutes.
* let cool and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

