Carrot Ginger Soup – Recipe

 

20140311-180005.jpg

I don’t love soup. It’s not my favorite. But part of the Whole30, to me anyway, is trying new things, or at least new recipes. I’m not a recipe person. I don’t follow directions. Trying to write a recipe is difficult because I just throw stuff together. My husband calls me the “Food Macgyver .”

Here’s my “interpretation” of a carrot ginger soup.

Ingredients
*10 medium carrots
*1/2 medium onion, chopped
*4 cloves garlic-crushed, minced, powdered, eh
*4 cups chicken broth – can use vegetable broth for a vegan version
*1 teaspoon salt
*Approximately 1 teaspoon fresh, grated ginger. This is entirely up to you as to how “gingery” you’d like it. I’d say this is pretty-gingery, but not crazy-ginger, on the ginger scale.

Directions
*Chop carrots. You can do this really however you want. The smaller the faster they cook.
*Grate the ginger.
*Put everything in a pot and cook covered on the stovetop. The cooking time will vary by cookware, stoves and your chopping style. Cook until the carrots are soft.
*Once cooked, put all ingredients in a high powered blender. I like mine pretty smooth, but keep it as chunky as you’d like!

Garnish (I used garlic fried plantain dippers and parsley) and enjoy!20140311-175952.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

